Top Stories

Candidates announced for inaugural Mike Richter Award


Let’s Play Hockey and the Herb Brooks Foundation announced today the 19 candidates for the inaugural Mike Richter Award, which annually honors the most outstanding goaltender in NCAA men’s hockey. The inaugural award will be presented at the 2014 NCAA Men’s Frozen Four in Philadelphia.

The candidates combine for a 2.27 goals-against average, a .924 save percentage and a grade-point average of 3.12. The nominees for the 2014 Mike Richter Award are:


Candidate School Year W-L-T GAA SV% SO
Sam Brittain Denver Senior 17-13-6 2.06 .934 5
Aaron Crandall Minnesota Duluth Senior 14-12-3 2.76 .900 1
Thatcher Demko Boston College Freshman 14-4-3 2.13 .921 2
Ryan Faragher St. Cloud State Junior 19-8-4 2.76 .906 1
Jon Gillies Providence Sophomore 18-7-5 2.17 .930 3
Connor Hellebuyck UMass Lowell Sophomore 15-8-2 1.87 .938 4
Jake Hildebrand Michigan State Sophomore 9-14-7 2.46 .923 2
Andy Iles Cornell Senior 16-9-5 2.11 .921 1
Branden Komm Bentley Senior 19-12-4 2.46 .923 1
CJ Motte Ferris State Junior 26-7-3 2.19 .928 4
Zach Nagelvoort Michigan Freshman 11-8-3 2.26 .925 1
Martin Ouellette Maine Senior 15-15-4 2.29 .925 4
Joel Rumpel Wisconsin Junior 19-5-1 2.00 .931 2
Jimmy Sarjeant Mercyhurst Junior 18-4-6 2.42 .932 1
Colin Stevens Union Junior 22-4-2 1.95 .931 6
Steve Summerhays Notre Dame Senior 21-12-2 1.95 .928 7
Jason Torf Air Force Senior 13-9-4 2.60 .911 1
Adam Wilcox Minnesota Sophomore 23-4-6 1.91 .934 3
Clay Witt Northeastern Junior 17-12-3 2.37 .932 4


Candidates for the Mike Richter Award were determined by nominations from all 59 NCAA Division I men’s hockey head coaches. The finalists and winner will be selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media.

Criteria for the Mike Richter Award:
-    Candidates must display outstanding skills on the ice
-    Candidates should be in good academic standing at an NCAA college or university
-    Consideration should be given to academic achievement and sportsmanship
-    Candidates must comply with all NCAA rules; be full-time students at an NCAA college or university; and complete 50 percent or more of the season
-    Consideration should be given to the candidate’s activities in the community


About Let’s Play Hockey: In its 42nd season and based in Minneapolis, Let’s Play Hockey is the longest-running hockey newspaper in the U.S., serving the largest hockey market in the nation. Let’s Play Hockey is published 29 times a year - weekly during the hockey season and monthly during the offseason.

About the Herb Brooks Foundation: The Herb Brooks Foundation is dedicated to growing the game of hockey and giving the game back to the kids. Founded in 2003 by Dan Brooks and Kelly Brooks Paradise, Herb’s family and friends created the foundation to preserve his legacy by continuing his life’s work by growing the game by “making hockey fun for kids and letting them learn to love the game the way we did.”