Top Stories

2014 Ms. Hockey, Senior Goalie semifinalists announced




Let’s Play Hockey announced today the 10 semifinalists for the 2014 Ms. Hockey Award and the Senior Goalie of the Year Award, presented to the top senior girls’ high school hockey player and goalie in Minnesota, respectively.

For the 19th annual Ms. Hockey Award, the semifinalists are:

Semifinalist Position School GP G A P College
Lynn Astrup Defense Warroad 21 14 17 31 Minnesota Duluth
Sydney Baldwin Defense Minnetonka 22 10 15 25 Minnesota
Sam Donovan Forward Irondale 23 39 38 77 Brown
Kiersten Falck Forward Blaine 24 17 22 39 Princeton
Alexis Joyce Forward Lakeville North 23 20 13


Bemidji State
Kelly Pannek Forward Benilde-St. Margaret's 22 29 38 67 Minnesota
Caitlin Reilly Forward Benilde-St. Margaret's 22 31 30 61 Penn State
Nina Rodgers Forward Hopkins 24 26 26 52 Minnesota
Nicole Schammel Forward Red Wing 23 45 36 81 Minnesota State
Bella Sutton Defense Mounds View 24 14 27 41 Penn State


All 10 players named as Ms. Hockey semifinalists are committed to a Division I school next season, including six in the WCHA. On average, the 10 players have scored an average of 25 goals and 26 assists this season for their respective teams. All semifinalists have been bound to the textbooks for the past several years as they check in with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.7.

Past winners: 2013 Dani Cameranesi (Blake), 2012 Hannah Brandt (Hill-Murray), 2011 Karley Sylvester (Warroad), 2010 Bethany Brausen (Roseville), 2009 Becky Kortum (Hopkins), 2008 Sarah Erickson (Bemidji), 2007 Katharine Chute (Blake), 2006 Allie Thunstrom (North St. Paul), 2005 Gigi Marvin (Warroad), 2004 Erica McKenzie (Hastings), 2003 Andrea Nichols (Hibbing/Chisholm), 2002 Ashley Albrecht (South St. Paul), 2001 Renee Curtin (Roseville), 2000 Krissy Wendell (Park Center), 1999 Ronda Curtin (Roseville), 1998 Laura Slominski (Burnsville), 1997 Annamarie Holmes (Apple Valley), 1996 Winny Brodt (Roseville).


The semifinalists for the Let’s Play Hockey Senior Goalie of the Year Award are:

Semifinalist School W-L-T GAA SV% SO College
Hannah Ehresmann Minnetonka 16-4-2 1.36 .938 3 Penn State
Madi Galstad East Grand Forks 18-1-1 1.10 .950 6 TBD
Angie Hall White Bear Lake 7-12-3 2.44 .921 3 UW-River Falls
Michelle Klimstra Rogers 12-9-2 2.40 .924 2 Bethel
Alex LaMere North Wright County 11-5-2 1.58 .931 6 Ohio State
Abbey Miller Benilde-St. Margaret's 14-2-1 1.56 .922 5 Syracuse
Erin O'Neil Hopkins 18-3-0 1.16 .950 7 Boston University
Hannah Paulson North Metro 3-14-0 4.38 .895 1 Bemidji State
Bailey Plaman Bloomington Jefferson 12-6-1 1.70 .934 1 Amherst
Boomer Sonnek Edina 12-3-1 1.81 .914 2 TBD


The 10 semifinalists for the Senior Goalie of the Year Award combine for a 1.95 goals-against average, a .928 save percentage and a grade-point average of 3.59. Eight of the 10 goaltenders have already made plans to play college hockey, including five in Division I.

Past winners: 2013 Sydney Rossman (Minnetonka), 2012 Erika Allen (Roseville Area), 2011 Julie Friend (Minnetonka), 2010 Kallie Billadeau (Hopkins), 2009 Laura Bellamy (Duluth), 2008 Alyssa Grogan (Eagan), 2007 Ashley Nixon (Blaine), 2006 Allana McCready (Centennial), 2005 Johanna Ellison (Cloquet/Esko/Carlton), 2004 Emily Brookshaw (Hill-Murray), 2003 Robin Doepke (Chaska), 2002 Amber Hasbargen (Warroad), 2001 Jody Horak (Blaine), 2000 Shari Vogt (River Lakes), 1999 Katie Beauduy (Blaine).

The five finalists for the Senior Goalie of the Year Award will be named in the Feb. 6 edition of Let’s Play Hockey, while the five Ms. Hockey Award finalists will be named in the Feb. 13 edition. The winners of both awards will be announced on Sunday, Feb. 23, at the Ms. Hockey Awards Banquet at the St. Paul RiverCentre.

In addition to announcing the Ms. Hockey and Senior Goalie of the Year winners, the annual awards banquet gathering includes all-state and all-academic awards, scholarship recipients and the Brano Stankovsky Award, presented by the Minnesota Girls’ Hockey Coaches Association. Fox 9’s Dawn Mitchell will serve as the emcee, while Fox Sports North’s Jamie Hersch will be the keynote speaker. Wildside Catering provides an outstanding meal. Call 612-729-0023 for tickets.

Only the five finalists for the Ms. Hockey and Senior Goalie of the Year awards receive complimentary tickets.

Ms. Hockey and the Senior Goalie of the Year awards are presented by Let's Play Hockey and the Minnesota Wild to the top senior girls’ high school hockey player/goalie in the state of Minnesota, based on the following criteria: academics, community/extra-curricular activities, citizenship, coachability and, of course, on-ice performance.

Both awards are sponsored by Let’s Play Hockey, the Minnesota Wild and Shakopee Chevrolet.