Top Stories

2013 Ms. Hockey, Senior Goalie semifinalists announced



Let’s Play Hockey has announced the 10 semifinalists for the 2013 Ms. Hockey Award and the Senior Goalie of the Year Award, presented to the top senior girls’ high school hockey player and goalie in Minnesota, respectively.


For the 18th annual Ms. Hockey Award, the semifinalists are:

Semifinalist Position School GP G A P College
Laura Bowman Forward Minnetonka 23 23 17 40 Penn State
Dani Cameranesi Forward Blake 20 45 28 73 Minnesota
Kate Flug Forward Roseville Area 23 26 22 48 Minnesota
Kayla Gardner Forward Warroad 23 32 37 69 North Dakota
Paige Haley Defense Red Wing 23 17 37


Lisa Marvin Forward Warroad 23 24 46 70 North Dakota
Amy Menke Forward Shakopee 22 38 17 55 North Dakota
Sidney Morin Defense Minnetonka 18 4 14 18 Minnesota Duluth
Kate Schipper Forward Breck 20 20 25 45 Minnesota
Megan Wolfe Forward Eagan 18 23 17 40 Minnesota

All 10 players named as Ms. Hockey semifinalists are committed to a Division I school next season, including nine in the WCHA. The 10 players have scored an average of 25 goals and 26 assists this season for their respective teams. All semifinalists have been bound to the textbooks for the past several years as they check in with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.57.


The semifinalists for the Let’s Play Hockey Senior Goalie of the Year Award are:

Semifinalist School W-L-T GAA SV% SO College
Cassie Alexander Lakeville North 12-5-1 1.93 .887 3 TBD
Katie Beckman Cloquet/Esko/Carlton 8-3-0 1.44 .941 3 Hamline
Erin Deters Sartell/Sauk Rapids 10-5-2 1.83 .940 1 Bemidji State
Casey Hartfiel Orono 17-5-2 2.35 .896 2 TBD
Lindsey Hartfiel Buffalo 18-6-0 1.90 .924 4

St. Scholastica

Dayton Hilgert Warroad 13-2-1 1.35 .936 4 TBD
McKenzie Johnson Eden Prairie 17-4-3 1.92 .909 2 TBD
Sydney Rossman Minnetonka 9-3-0 1.16 .932 3 Quinnipiac
Abbi White Forest Lake 13-7-2 2.02 .928 6 TBD
Alexys Woodward Hill-Murray 8-5-3 1.63 .918 5 TBD

The 10 semifinalists for the Senior Goalie of the Year Award combine for a 1.7 goals-against average, a .921 save percentage and a grade-point average of 3.67. Four of the 10 goaltenders have already made plans to play college hockey.

The five finalists for the Senior Goalie of the Year Award will be named in the Feb. 7 edition of Let’s Play Hockey,  while the five Ms. Hockey Award finalists will be named in the Feb. 14 edition. The winners of both awards will be announced on Sunday, Feb. 24, at the Ms. Hockey Awards Banquet at the St. Paul RiverCentre.

In addition to announcing the Ms. Hockey and Senior Goalie of the Year winners, the annual awards banquet gathering includes all-state and all-academic awards presented by the Minnesota Girls’ Hockey Coaches Association. Wildside Catering provides an outstanding meal. Call 612-729-0023 for tickets.

Ms. Hockey and the Senior Goalie of the Year awards are presented by Let's Play Hockey, the Minnesota Wild and Shock Doctor to the top senior girls’ high school hockey player/goalie in the state of Minnesota, based on the following criteria: academics, community/extra-curricular activities, citizenship, coachability and, of course, on-ice performance.

Both awards are sponsored by Let’s Play Hockey, the Minnesota Wild and Shock Doctor.