High School

One Line, and Moore

Duluth East defenseman Meirs Moore provides Team North with playmaking threat

By Loren Nelson

MN Hockey Hub Editor

The trio of Trevor Olson, Jake Randolph and Dom Toninato accounted for 69 of Duluth East’s 128 regular-season goals last season.

It’s no secret that any game plan built for beating the Greyhounds starts and ends with controlling their top line.

Even that might not be enough.

“All the teams are going to know those are our go-to guys,” Duluth East junior defenseman Meirs Moore said. “But then we’ll try to get the D jumping in trying to make some more plays.”

Read more: One Line, and Moore

2011 Bauer NIT set for Oct. 21-23

The Bauer National Invitational Tournament has become one of the most competitive U19 girls’ tournaments in North America, attracting substantial attention from College Scouts and USA Hockey National Program Scouts. This year’s tournament is at the Fogerty Ice House in Blaine, Minn., on October 21-23.

This year’s tournament field includes three UMHSEL Elite All-Star Teams (made up of best high school players in Minnesota), Shattuck-St. Mary’s U19, Michigan’s Honeybaked U19, Ontario’s Thunder Bay U19, Team Wisconsin U19 and Shattuck-St. Mary’s U16. Pool A and Pool B will each round-robin and then teams will cross-over to meet in the final round.

Tickets are $5. Weekend passes are available for $15. Scout passes and UMHSEL Player Profile Books are on hand. Any Minnesota Youth Hockey Player wearing their association team jersey will get in free.

All games are held at Fogerty Ice House (9250 Lincoln Street NE Blaine, MN 55434 P:763-780-3328). More info on the Bauer NIT and UMHSEL can be found at www.hselitehockey.com.

Read more: 2011 Bauer NIT set for Oct. 21-23

Laying it on the Line

Team Southeast trio of Kloos, Guentzel and Nelson keeps piling up the points


By Michael Murakami

MN Hockey Hub staff

In the offense-heavy Upper Midwest High School Elite Hockey League there’s one line that’s proving to be extremely difficult to defend against.

Through 16 games, Team Southeast’s point-scoring powerhouse trio of Lakeville South’s Justin Kloos, Hill-Murray’s Jake Guentzel and Eastview’s Scott Nelson has registered 85 points (37 goals, 48 assists).

Eight of those points (three goals, five assists) came during Southeast’s 9-4 victory over Team Northeast on Tuesday, Oct. 11, at New Hope Ice Arena that kept Team Southeast (11-2-3) atop the Elite League standings and increased its lead by four points over Northeast (9-4-3).

Read more: Laying it on the Line

Team Northeast Undefeated in Week 5

Colin Hernon of Bloomington Jefferson scored three goals and Zach Thompson stopped 15 shots in a 9-0 victory over Great Plains on Sunday, Oct. 9, at New Hope Ice Arena as Team Northeast completed an undefeated Week 5 in the Upper Midwest High School Elite Hockey League.

Team Northeast opened the week with a 7-4 victory over Team Northwest on Tuesday, Oct. 4, and beat Team Wisconsin 2-0 on Saturday, Oct. 8, behind a 30-save performance from goaltender Nick Malvin of Blaine.

Team Northeast and Shattuck-St. Mary’s, which also went 3-0 during the Elite League’s Showcase Week, each earned a bonus point in the league standings.

Shattuck-St. Mary’s opened Week 5 with a 3-2 triumph over Team Southwest on Wednesday, Oct. 5, as Nicholas Petralla’s third-period goal stood up as the game winner.

Vinni Lettieri of Minnetonka scored three goals and added four assists for Team Southwest as it went 1-1-1 over the week. Lettieri was named the Wild Player of the Week for his efforts. Team Southwest beat Team North 10-4 on Saturday and tied Team Southeast 4-4 on Sunday.

League scoring leader Justin Kloos of Lakeville South scored two goals and added an assist on Sunday as league-leading Team Southeast skated to a 4-4 tie with Team Southwest.

Team Southeast beat Team North 6-3 and lost to Team Northwest 4-3 on Saturday.

Read more: Team Northeast Undefeated in Week 5

Girls Elite League Opens 2011 Season

The Girls Upper Midwest High School Elite League began the 2011 season at the National Hockey Center in St. Cloud for the SCSU U19 Fall Classic. The tournament field of eight included the three UMHSEL teams (Red, Black, and White), Madison Capitols U19, Westman Selects, Eastman Selects, Team Wisconsin U19, Thunder Bay Queens, Grand Rapids Blaze U19 and Shattuck-St. Mary’s U19.

Team Red UMHSEL claimed the No. 1 seed after defeating the Eastman Selects and Westman Selects, playing for the championship against Shattuck-St. Mary’s. Kate Flug (junior, Roseville HS) scored a goal and Hannah Brandt (senior, Hill-Murray HS) had a hat trick, scoring the game-winning goal with just seconds left in regulation. Goaltenders Tara Hoverstad (senior, Blaine HS) had 8 saves on 9 shots, and Maddie Dahl (senior, Edina HS) finished the game with 16 saves on 18 shots.

Following are the scores for the SCSU U19 Fall Classic:

Read more: Girls Elite League Opens 2011 Season