Hannah Brandt named Ms. Hockey, Erika Allen named Senior Goalie of the Year

Hannah Brandt, a senior forward on the Hill-Murray High School girls’ hockey team was named the winner of the 17th annual Ms. Hockey Award by Let’s Play Hockey newspaper today at the annual Ms. Hockey Awards Banquet. Erika Allen of Roseville Area High School was named the Let’s Play Hockey Senior Goalie of the Year. The award, presented to the top girls’ high school hockey senior player and goalie in Minnesota, is based on the following criteria: academics, community/extra curricular activities, citizenship, coachability and, of course, on-ice performance.


Considered one of the top players in the nation in her age group, Hannah Brandt led the Pioneers to the No. 1 ranking in Class AA during the season with her state-leading scoring totals of 59-31--90 in 26 games.

The first-ever Ms. Hockey winner from Hill-Murray, Brandt was held without a point in only one game (Dec. 20 at South St. Paul), and posted 22 multi-point and 20 multi-goal games on the year. She notched 13 hat tricks and recorded a trio of six-point games.

A member of the gold medal-winning U.S. Women’s National Under-18 Team at the IIHF World U18 Championship, Brandt helped Hill-Murray to a 25-3-0 overall record and within one win from earning its second straight trip to the state tournament. A two-year team captain and five-time team MVP, she has been named to the all-state team in four consecutive seasons.

“There have been some great female hockey players to play in Minnesota but I truly believe that by the time Hannah finishes her high school, college and international playing career, she will be known as one of the best to have ever played women’s hockey,” Hill-Murray head coach Bill Schafhauser said. “When you combine her physical talents with her innate ability to anticipate plays before they even take place, you will see one of the best players in the world at her age group.”

Along with being an excellent hockey player, Brandt is also a top-notch student. She holds a 3.924 GPA in a rigorous curriculum with honors courses in math, English, biology, chemistry and Spanish. She earned the Hill-Murray Gold Service award for 40-plus service experiences, volunteering for several community organizations. In addition, Brandt is a two-time letterwinner for the Pioneer soccer team.

“Hannah is a member of the National Honor Society and volunteers her time to numerous community service causes that range from teaching young kids to skate to being an advocate for the homeless,” Schafhauser said.

The other finalists for Ms. Hockey were forwards Hanna Brodt of Roseville and Jonna Curtis of Elk River/Zimmerman, and defensemen Milica McMillen of Breck and Lee Stecklein of Roseville.

Past winners include Karley Sylvester of Warroad (2011), Bethany Brausen of Roseville (2010) Becky Kortum of Hopkins (2009), Sarah Erickson of Bemidji (2008), Katharine Chute of Blake (2007), Allie Thunstrom of North St. Paul (2006), Gigi Marvin of Warroad (2005), Erica McKenzie of Hastings (2004), Andrea Nichols of Hibbing/Chisholm (2003), Ashley Albrecht of South St. Paul (2002), Renee Curtin of Roseville (2001), Krissy Wendell of Park Center (2000), Ronda Curtin of Roseville (1999), Laura Slominski of Burnsville (1998), Annamarie Holmes of Apple Valley (1997) and Winny Brodt of Roseville (1996).

The 17th annual award, selected based on consultations with a panel of high school coaches, and Division I and III college coaches from Minnesota and Wisconsin, is sponsored by Let’s Play Hockey, the Minnesota Wild, Shock Doctor and DCS Image.


Erika Allen of Roseville Area High School has been named the Let’s Play Hockey Senior Goalie of the Year, the newspaper announced today at the annual Ms. Hockey Awards Banquet. The award is presented annually to the top Minnesota senior goalie in girls’ high school hockey.

One of the state’s top goalies the past four seasons, Erika Allen posted outstanding numbers for the Raiders. The owner of a 20-3-1 overall record, Allen had a state-best .955 save percentage and 0.94 goals-against average. She allowed two or fewer goals in 23 of her 25 starts, including 10 shutouts. Two of Roseville’s three losses on the season came when Allen allowed more than two goals – in back-to-back games against Minnetonka (4-0) and South St. Paul (3-2).

A two-time all-conference selection, Allen backstopped the Raiders to the 2010 Class AA state title and to second place at the 2012 Class AA state tournament. She has been a member of five straight Suburban East Conference championship teams. The two-time all-state honorable mention netminder has given up only nine lamplighters in her last 13 games.

She will play Division III college hockey at Bethel University in St. Paul.

“To paraphrase Herb Brooks’ comments about 1980 Russian Olympic Goaltender Vladislav Tretiak, if you score on Erika Allen, keep the puck as it doesn’t happen often,” Roseville head coach Vic Brodt said. “As a coach, having Erika in the nets makes you rest much easier. Our team has the confidence that she will keep us in every game.”

Off the ice, Allen owns a 3.84 GPA, is a three-time academic letter winner and a member of the National Honor Society. A captain for the soccer and softball teams, Allen is president of Raiders Against Destructive Decisions, a Vacation Bible School teacher and volunteers with young goalies in the summer.

“Erika leads by example on the ice and in the classroom,” Brodt said. “In addition, she is a great role model for young girls by volunteering her time to help others. Erika’s understanding and willingness to be involved in her community is another reason she is not only a great goaltender, but a great person and student.”

The Senior Goalie of the Year Award is based on nominations from high school coaches and is selected based on consultations with a panel of high school coaches, and Division I and III women’s college coaches. The award is based on the following criteria: academics, community/ extracurricular activities, citizenship, coachability and, of course, on-ice performance.

The other finalists for the award were Madeleine Dahl of Edina, Madison Denny of Andover, Gillian McDonald of Irondale and Taylor Neisen of Breck.

This is the 14th year of the LPH Goalie of the Year award. Previous winners include Julie Friend of Minnetonka (2011), Kallie Billadeau of Hopkins (2010) Laura Bellamy of Duluth (2009), Alyssa Grogan of Eagan (2008), Ashley Nixon of Blaine (2007), Alannah McCready of Centennial (2006), Johanna Ellison of Cloquet/Esko/Carlton (2005), Emily Brookshaw of Hill-Murray (2004), Robin Doepke of Chaska (2003), Amber Hasbargen of Warroad (2002), Jody Horak of Blaine (2001), Shari Vogt of River Lakes (2000) and Katie Beauduy of Blaine (1999).

The award is sponsored by Let’s Play Hockey, the Minnesota Wild, Carroll Goalie School, Shock Doctor and DCS Image.