Ms. Hockey

2012 Ms. Hockey semifinalists announced


Let’s Play Hockey announced today the 10 semifinalists for the 2012 Ms. Hockey Award, presented to the top senior girls’ high school hockey player in Minnesota.

For the 17th annual Ms. Hockey Award, the semifinalists are:

Semifinalist Position School GP G A P College
Megan Armstrong Defense Edina 25 11 12 23 New Hampshire
Hannah Brandt Forward Hill-Murray 23 52 30 82 Minnesota
Hanna Brodt Forward Roseville Area 24 25 31 56 St. Cloud State
Sara Carlson Forward Hutchinson 23 38 21 59 New Hampshire
Jonna Curtis Forward Elk River/Zimmerman 24 34 23


New Hampshire
Molly Illikainen Forward Grand Rapids/Greenway  18  24  17  41  Providence
Samantha LaShomb  Defense  South St. Paul 20 17 27 44 North Dakota
Megan Lushanko Forward Chisago Lakes Area 23 27 31 58 Bemidji State
Milica McMillen Defense Breck 20 24 18 42 Minnesota
Lee Stecklein Defense Roseville Area 19 12 14 26 Minnesota


All 10 players named as Ms. Hockey semifinalists are committed to a Division I school next season, including six in the WCHA. On average, the 10 players have scored an average of 26 goals and 22 assists this season for their respective teams. All semifinalists have been bound to the textbooks for the past several years as they check in with a cumulative grade-point average of 3.63.

Past winners: 2011 Karley Sylvester (Warroad), 2010 Bethany Brausen (Roseville), 2009 Becky Kortum (Hopkins), 2008 Sarah Erickson (Bemidji), 2007 Katharine Chute (Blake), 2006 Allie Thunstrom (North St. Paul), 2005 Gigi Marvin (Warroad), 2004 Erica McKenzie (Hastings), 2003 Andrea Nichols (Hibbing/Chisholm), 2002 Ashley Albrecht (South St. Paul), 2001 Renee Curtin (Roseville), 2000 Krissy Wendell (Park Center), 1999 Ronda Curtin (Roseville), 1998 Laura Slominski (Burnsville), 1997 Annamarie Holmes (Apple Valley), 1996 Winny Brodt (Roseville).

The five finalists for theMs. Hockey Award will be named in the Feb. 16 edition of Let's Play Hockey with the winner announced at the Ms. Hockey Awards Banquet on Sunday, Feb. 26, at 11:30 a.m., at the St. Paul RiverCentre. The 10 semifinalists for the Let’s Play Hockey Senior Goalie of the Year Award were also announced today. The five finalists for the Senior Goalie of the Year Award will be named in the Feb. 9 edition of Let’s Play Hockey.

Both awards are sponsored by Let’s Play Hockey, the Minnesota Wild, Shock Doctor and DCS Image. The Senior Goalie of the Year Award is also sponsored by The Carroll Goalie School.

In addition to announcing the Ms. Hockey and Senior Goalie of the Year winners, the annual awards banquet gathering includes all-state and all-academic awards presented by the Minnesota Girls’ Hockey Coaches Association. Wildside Catering provides an outstanding meal. Call 612-729-0023 for tickets. Cost is $25.

Only the five finalists for the Ms. Hockey and Senior Goalie of the Year awards receive complimentary tickets.

Ms. Hockey and the Senior Goalie of the Year awards are presented by Let's Play Hockey and the Minnesota Wild to the top senior girls’ high school hockey player/goalie in the state of Minnesota, based on the following criteria: academics, community/extra-curricular activities, citizenship, coachability and, of course, on-ice performance.